How to Register your Inflatable Sport Boat
Boat registration is mandatory in all states in the U.S. and most countries. Every state and country has their own boating laws and registration requirements. It is the responsibility of the boat owner to know all these restrictions and requirements before using their Sport Boat. Contact your local DMV to ask about vessel registration requirements in your area. You can also find this information online by typing into Google: DMV vessel registration in “your county”.
4 easy steps to register your Inflatable Sport Boat Dinghy
#1. HIN # on Sport Boat. Your Sport Boat’s unique HIN plate, “Hull Identification Number”, is attached to transom and will be 12 digits long starting with ASTSB###x###.
#2. Manufacture Certificate of Origin “MCO” (Back page of owners manual or click link to print). Make sure to fill out the MCO completely with black pen prior to taking it to the DMV for registration.
#3. Bill of Sale – Sales receipt showing you purchased the boat. This confirms that you paid for the Sport Boat and paid taxes, if required to.
If you purchased a Sport Boat from Amazon or a vendor, the sales receipt or invoice from Amazon or a vendor verifying the purchase will work as your bill of sale. You can also request a copy of your bill of sale directly from Inflatable Sport Boats by contacting us.
#4. California Boaters 101 Form (Forms could vary for each state. This is the form used in CA)
TIP: You can register your dinghy at any DMV. If you have AAA insurance, most AAA offices have a DMV desk where you can register your inflatable boat there as well. Helps eliminate the wait at the DMV.
In California, you must register any inflatable boat over 8 feet long. You can register your dinghy with the DMV very easily. Take the necessary paperwork list above and it should take 15 minutes at a DMV window with a scheduled appointment. In 2016, boat registration costed around $35 for the year.